CV Development

This is my first CV design which I felt was a good representation of me. The corner marks represent that I like photography and also that I like everything to be central and clean. A lot of my design style is clean and simple design and I think that this was represented in the first draft. I also following on from some examples felt it would be good to include a photograph of myself because it would make it more human.

Screenshot 2019-06-03 at 18.22.00

At this point I did not have my contact information sorted but I did ensure to include an area for it to be situated in so that I could easily change this later on. With hindsight of the first draft I felt it lacked colour and decided to add the colour red after a lot of samples because I felt it worked best with white and black.

Screenshot 2019-06-03 at 18.26.02

Adding the use of the colour really helps the CV stand out more however after talking to my lecturers and a few fellow students I decided that the photograph did not represent me as well as I would have liked. My face is hidden and not smiling, that was not me in a photograph. Also, the photographer marks made the CV look like a photographer’s CV rather than a graphic designer. This was a bad idea and once I removed them it actually allowed the design to breathe more and occupy the page a lot better.

Screenshot 2019-06-03 at 19.45.07

For the final design I do want to see if I can change the design so it does not have a line riding along the bottom of the text as I feel the column lengths need work.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.